NASA’s Martian ‘Flying Saucer’ to Launch Test Flight Saturday: Watch Live

Editor’s update: NASA has delayed the launch of its Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator to no earlier than Saturday, June 6, at 1:30 p.m. ET. The story below has been updated with new launch target times.

NASA now aims to launch a flight test Saturday (June 6) of an innovative “flying saucer” that could help humans land on Mars in the future, and you can watch the dramatic action live.

The space agency’s Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD) test vehicle is scheduled to launch from the Hawaiian island of Kauai no earlier than 1:30 p.m. EDT (1730 GMT; 0730 local Hawaiian time) on Saturday, borne aloft by a giant balloon. You can watch the test live on Space.com, courtesy of NASA TV, beginning at 1 p.m. EDT (1700 GMT). The launch was originally slated for Tuesday, but NASA has delayed the flight repeatedly due to strong winds and rough ocean conditions.

http://www.space.com/29542-flying-saucer-test-flight-watch-live.html

Facebooktwitterreddit